Center Affiliate Faculty

The Center for Africana Studies and Culture has a multitude of faculty and advisors providing expertise in research, development, program experiences, study abroad opportunities, events, courses, community engagement, and much more.

Prestigious Fellow

The Center for Africana Studies and Culture (CASC) welcomes prestigious fellows to promote the Center’s work of curating Black cultural experiences for the campus and the surrounding communities.

2022-23 Prestigious Fellow: A'Lelia Bundles

Program Leadership Council

The Program Leadership Council is the governance council for the Center for Africana Studies and Culture. It features Center for Africana Studies and Culture faculty, including two members from outside of the School of Liberal Arts, broadening the reach of the program. The council provides oversight for new course development, forms interdisciplinary research teams, assists with recruitment, leads committees and working groups, and provides an extra level of support for the director, where needed.

  • Cleveland Hayes II, Ph.D., Associate Dean of Academic Affairs, Professor of Education and Africana Studies
  • Ronda Henry Anthony, Ph.D., Associate Professor of English and Public Scholar of Africana Studies
  • Lasana Kazembe, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Education and Africana Studies
  • Obioma Nnaemeka, Ph.D., Chancellor’s Professor of French and Africana Studies
  • Jennifer Thorington Springer, Ph.D., Associate Dean of Student Affairs, Professor of English and Africana Studies
  • Joseph Tucker Edmonds, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Religious Studies and Africana Studies
  • Patricia Turley, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Africana Studies

Community Scholars of Center for Africana Studies and Culture

The Community Scholars of Center for Africana Studies and Culture are drawn from a myriad of local entities all connected to the goals and aims of Center for Africana Studies and Culture at IUPUI. They make significant and meaningful contributions to meet educational objectives through community-based learning activities, support of community-engaged research, or professional service related to their areas of expertise.

  • Rob Dixon, Artistic Director Indianapolis Jazz Foundation
  • Susan Hall Dotson, Coordinator of African American History, Indiana Historical Society
  • Charlene Fletcher, Ph.D., Curator of African American Life and History, Conner Prairie Nichelle Hayes, Director, Center for Black Literature and Culture, Indianapolis Public Library
  • Ivan Douglass Hicks, Ph.D., Senior Minister First Baptist Church North
  • Breanca Merritt , Ph.D., Chief Health Equity & ADA Officer, Indiana Family and Social Services Administration
  • Kisha Tandy, Curator of Social History, Indiana State Museum
  • Judith Thomas, Deputy Mayor of Neighborhood Engagement, City of Indianapolis

Affiliate Faculty Members

Associate faculty hold courtesy affiliate appointments in Center for Africana Studies and Culture and complete a variety of diverse tasks in support of the program. Some of these individuals teach courses in the program, serve on committees, engage working groups, spread the word to students about the program, serve as mentors to the Olaniyan Scholars, or provide a level of support for upcoming internal research initiatives or public facing participatory creative or scholarly activity.

  • Caroline Bailey, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice
  • Sha'Kema Blackmon, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Education
  • Mercedes Cannon, Ph.D., Assistant Director, Adaptive Educational Services
  • Karen Dace, Ph.D., Vice Chancellor, Diversity Equity and Inclusion, Professor Communication Studies
  • Tyrone Freeman, Ph.D., Associate Professor, School of Philanthropy
  • Gina Sanchez Gibau, Ph.D., Associate Vice Chancellor for Faculty Diversity and Inclusion, Associate Professor of Anthropology
  • Didier Gondola, Ph.D., Professor of History
  • Tabitha Hardy, Ph.D., Assistant Dean for Student Development and Academic Affairs
  • Kelly Hayes, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Religious Studies Crystal Hill-Morton, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Education
  • James Hill, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Computer Science
  • David Hoegberg, Ph.D., Chair and Associate Professor of English
  • Tambra Jackson, Ph.D., Professor Education and Interim Dean School of Education
  • Jack Kaufman-McKivigan, Ph.D., Professor of History
  • Jason Kelly, Ph.D., Professor and Chair of History, Director IUPUI Arts and Humanities Institute
  • Erick Kyere, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Social Work
  • Cullen Merritt, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Public Affairs and Administration
  • Paul Mullins, Ph.D., Professor of Anthropology
  • Elizabeth Nelson, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Medical Humanities
  • Oladele O. Omosegbon, Ph.D., Senior Associate Professor, Africana Studies
  • Roderick Perry, PhD., Director of Athletics
  • Gemmicka Piper, Ph.D., Assistant Librarian, University Library
  • Kara Taylor, Ph.D. Assistant Professor of Education
  • Chalmer Thompson, Ph.D., Associate Professor of Education
  • Khalilah Shabazz, Ph.D., Assistant Vice Chancellor, Diversity Equity and Inclusion
  • Sacha Sharp, Ph.D. Assistant Professor of Medicine
  • Amy Irby Shasanmi, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Sociology
  • Regina Turner, Ph.D., University College
  • Eric Williams, Ph.D., Senior Executive Director of Educational Equity Programs
  • Francesca Williamson, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Pediatrics